On August 14, 2020 the Global Network of Women Peacebuilders & it’s Young Women Leaders for Peace hosted a virtual panel discussion “Young Women Leaders & Peacebuilders on the Frontlines of Crises” with the Office of the UN Secretary-General’s Envoy on Youth, Austrian Development Cooperation, Permanent Missions of Canada, the Dominican Republic, Finland, Norway, and Switzerland, Global Kids, Canadian Council of Young Feminists, and UN Women!

Highlight the important contributions of young women to:
🕊 peacebuilding + sustaining peace
⛑ humanitarian emergency response
💣 prevention of violent extremism
❌ combatting sexual and gender-based violence
📚 right to education
🩺 health security
🌱 climate justice
✊🏿 ending racism & police brutality #BLM

Speakers included:
-Hon. Karina Gould, Minister of International Development, Canada
-Hon. Li Andersson, Minister of Education, Finland
-Hon. Marilou McPhedran, Senator, Canada
-Hon. Sarah Elago, Member of Parliament, Philippines
-H.E. Jose Singer, Ambassador, Dominican Republic
-Mr. Dominique Favre, Chargé d’Affaires, Switzerland
-Ms. Marita Sørheim-Rensvik, Special Envoy for Women, Peace and Security, Norway
-Ms. Desiree Schweitzer, Director General for Development Cooperation, Ministry for European and International Affairs, Austria
-Dr. Rima Salah, Former UNICEF Deputy Executive Director, Jordan
-Ms. Anita Bhatia, Deputy Executive Director for Resource Management, Sustainability and Partnerships, UN Women
-Ms. Mavic Cabrera Balleza, Founder and CEO, Global Network of Women Peacebuilders
-Ms. Hayat Mirshad, Co-Founder, Fe-Male, Lebanon
-Ms. Heela Yoon, Cora Weiss Fellow, Global Network of Women Peacebuilders/Afghan Women Welfare Development Association
-LasTesis Colectivo, Chile
-Ms. Asmin Monib, Young Women Leaders for Peace, Philippines
-Ms. Rimu Sultana Rimu, Young Women Leaders for Peace, Bangladesh
-Ms. Philomena Wankenge, Founder of Freedom Fighters DC, USA
-Ms. Esther Eboh, Youth Leader, Global Kids Inc, USA
-Ms. Muzoon Almellehan, UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador, Syria
-Ms. Nicole Musimbi, Young Women Leaders for Peace, Democratic Republic of Congo
-Ms. Petrider Paul, Member of the African Union Youth Advisory Council, Tanzania